Kirafa’s Revolt


What’s this feeling called?
November 14, 2016, 2:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I don’t feel like me anymore. I don’t know who I feel like, but definitely not me. I feel ill at ease. It is definitely a feeling that’s hard to figure out. I’m not quite terrified, but not calm. Will psychologists and therapists come out with a name for this post-Trump election feeling? 

Tomorrow will be a week since Election Day, when I stood in line with hope. And tomorrow night at 7:30 will be a week since I stared at the tv with foreboding and went to bed at 8:00 thinking I was just being silly. My country would never vote this hateful, spiteful man as our president. That could NEVER happen. 

But it did. 

And I haven’t felt the same since. It took me three days to watch the news. Four days to watch Hillary’s concession speech and now I’m reading my emails. I’ve always relied on my emails for news and now I know how this election will change things.  

Some of my friends think I’m overreacting. They say oh it’s only four years, then I point out that Supreme Court Justices are life appointments. And now for the first time in a while we have a GOP controlled Congress and they have plans and these plans affect me. 

Paul Ryan wants to gut the Affordable Care Act. I won’t have health insurance and I’m getting older. He wants to gut Medicare and give out vouchers. This would affect anyone born after 1957. I was born in 1958. 

I stare at the tv with the news stations televising protests, thousands protesting Trump’s election. It’s too late guys, too late. I’m reading blogs that are talking about an increase in hate crimes and the KKK having a parade in my home state of North Carolina. A person that I have know for seventeen years and that I thought was like minded, told me that his friend didn’t get a medical procedure because he was the wrong color. I was standing in line at the grocery store and saw people around me with safety pins. This is apparently a movement indicating you don’t feel safe? Now I’m hearing that our President elect is backtracking on his promises to these people who are committing the hate crimes. So now we are going to piss them off? 

Where am I? What the fuck is going on? This is not my country. 

I know I’m supposed to put up pics for my blog posts and links and things to signify my thoughts and feelings. But honestly, right now, all I want to do is cry and crawl back in bed.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment